

## MEDIA RELEASE

## Appointments to the State Civil Service Commission Announced

Release Date: March 2, 2023

Contact : Lindsay Ruiz de Chavez Public Information Director (225) 219-9462 Lindsay.Ruiz@la.gov

Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards recently reappointed D. Scott Hughes, and appointed Candes C. Carter and Craig A. Netterville to the State Civil Service Commission.

D. Scott Hughes, of Shreveport, was nominated by Dr. Christopher L. Holoman, President of Centenary College of Louisiana. Mr. Hughes is the chief executive officer of the Northwest Louisiana Association of Realtors. In his third term, Mr. Hughes serves as a representative of the 4th Congressional District and as the Vice Chairman of the State Civil Service Commission.

Candes C. Carter, of New Orleans, was nominated by the President of Xavier University, Dr. Reynold Verret. Ms. Carter brings to the Commission experience in business, non-profit leadership, and community advocacy. She is the Founder and Lead Consultant for The Carter Experience. Ms. Carter serves as a representative of the 2nd Congressional District.

Craig A. Netterville, of Baton Rouge, was nominated by Michael Fitts, President of Tulane University, and serves as a representative of the 6th Congressional District. He comes to the Commission from the banking industry. Mr. Netterville currently serves as the Senior Vice President – Private Client Group Manager at First Horizon Bank.

Carter, Hughes, and Netterville were given the Oath of Office by Sherri Gregoire, SCS General Counsel, at the March 1, 2023, regular business meeting of the State Civil Service Commission.

The State Civil Service Commission is a seven-member body that has final authority over the administration of the State Civil Service system. The Commission serves as an impartial review board that enacts and adjudicates State Civil Service Rules to regulate state personnel activities and hears appeals from state employees. Commission meetings and hearings are held monthly and are open to the public.

Six of the Commission members are appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate; the seventh is an employee representative elected by fellow state employees. Each member serves a six-year term. When choosing an appointed member, the Governor must select from a list of three people nominated by the president of one of the state's major private universities.

Other members of the Commission include David Duplantier, Chairman (Loyola University); John McLure (Louisiana College); Jo Ann Nixon (Dillard University); and Kristi Folse (employee representative).

## State Civil Service Mission:

To provide human resource services and programs that enable state government to attract, develop and retain a productive and diverse workforce that excels in delivering quality services to the citizens of Louisiana.

To learn more about Louisiana State Civil Service, follow us on Social Media.

